The First Thing You MUST Do To Play Basketball Overseas


Not every college ballplayer is gonna make the NBA or WBNA. I don’t know the exact percentage, but I‘ve read it’s less than 1%.

When you apply the same equation to high school players, the number drops to about .03%

The ones that do make it are lucky if they stick around long enough to have Charles Barkley saying they’re somebody he’d would ‘go to war with.’

So at some point its pertinent that every player who believes they have what it takes to play pro basketball should at least consider what needs to be done if plan NB’A’ turns into plan ‘over C’s.’

First things first. Please Get your Passport.

Even THIS guy’s ready to play overseas

As you may know, iBall United recently hosted what some players, agents and coaches have called ‘the BEST free agent exposure camp EVER‘!

My buddy Matt Cubbler from MAXOUT and a host of iBall faithful were callin’ it that way beforehand, but I guess some people didn’t believe us.

Shame on you. lol

You may also know that one of the biggest benefits for participating in iBall Pro Combine was that the MVP got an all-expense paid trip to Spain to participate in a Pro Camp. The male MVP was expected to leave for the beautiful island of Tenerife less than 10 days after the camp.

Here’s one for ya.  Take a guess at the percentage of players who showed up  with the required Proof of Passport.

Another perk was that every player got a free personalized webpage built for them in order for them to use as a bio.  Not only do the pages list their bio, playing history, videos, stats, news, awards, favorite ball pics and more. It also has their direct contact information on it.

If you didn’t get the memo, the days of ugly email bio’s with pdf attachements and youtube links are officially dead.

In addition, we put out a scouting report that capitizes on this benefit.  Every time a Euro Pro Select player’s name is mentioned in the report, their name is clickable directly to their webpage.    Note: I’m boldly calling THE BEST free agent camp scouting report EVER. If you come across a better one, please send it to me.

I won’t get into the percentage of players that actually submitted their info in order to take advantage of this benefit. I understand the low number because it’s a new concept and we’re the only ones doing it.

But I remember what it was like to be sitting at home during free agent signing periods, and I could have used knowing my online bio was accessible by more than 500 teams, agents, and coaches across the International basketball world.One player, who will remain nameless, had a bunch of page visits too.  I was trying to figure out the attraction to the page so I went and took a look. I was about to send a message by clicking the “contact this player” button on the page until I glanced to the right and nearly fell out my chair.  NO PASSPORT?!?!

Then I took a look at all the pages. I honestly can’t believe how many players came to our camp, or go to any exposure camp for that matter, without the pass  to cash in on a contract offer.  I can only hope those players hit us up soon with a request to update their Passport status.

To sum things up, if you’ve learned anything from this post, I hope it wasn’t that Charles Barkley likes to say ‘homeboy’s tough.’  What I hope you’ve learned is that if you have a goal to play pro ball, or any goal for that matter, the time is now to sit down and think about everything you’re gonna need to make it happen. And then do the same for goal B & C.

And then, Be Ready when your time comes.

I have a friend that’s played for more than 15 years in countries all over the world. He says he keeps a suitcase packed in his house at all times.  He’s always ready!!!

Thanks for sharing!

International Ballplayers United, Inc.

http://www.iballunited.net

About iBall United

A Sports Management, Marketing, and Consulting Agency.
This entry was posted in Education, iBall United, International Basketball and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The First Thing You MUST Do To Play Basketball Overseas

  1. Justin Sloan says:

    My name is Justin I’m 6’2 I’m 27 years old I wanna know how I can get going to play ball overseas please contact me

  2. Thurseon Price says:

    Hey I’m Thurseon Price I’m a 17 year old male point guard I’m 6″ 0 feet , I wanna know what type of education you would need to be required because I just need science and social studies on my GED.

  3. Erin says:

    I’m a 28 year old woman (29 in august) 5’11” played 1 year community college ball I ran point/center and anything in between I want to tryout for overseas but don’t know where to start. Can you help me out any?

  4. Your style is so unique in comparison to other people I have read stuff from.
    I appreciate you for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess I’ll just book mark this web site.

    • Anonymous says:

      Thanks so much for your kind words. Please let us know if there is any specific information that you are looking for. We may already have some materials or we may be working on something that could help. If not, we will do our best to research and provide insight to the best of our ability. We are inspired by the opportunity to arm players and agents with the knowledge and tools that may help make them succesful! Thank you!

  5. lanita major says:

    hello i have the same situation as this lady monica and i like to know how to go about getting into the league

  6. Pingback: iballunited: Basketball Players Top 10 Things to Pack | Athletes Abroad

  7. Monica McGee says:

    Hi, I’m a 30 year old woman, who wants to play basketball overseas. I am a really good player. Played point guard all while I was in school. I did not go to college to play, but I did go to college, but never finished. I really want to go play ball overseas and I’m not gonna stop until I do. Please if I can get a little help on how I can go about getting things going, please do contact me,and you won’t be sorry you did.

Questions and Comments are welcome. Thank you!

