How To Start a Blog on WordPress, Archiving Your Pro Career, and Why it Ain’t My Fault


If you came here just to find out how to start a blog, I’m happy to say you’ve come to the right place.  At the bottom of page, I inserted
the best video tutorial I could find. How to embed the video is another story.

Now if this video doesn’t have the most beautiful border or the best placement in the blog, gimme break. It ain’t my fault.

NEW TO BLOGS? JOIN THE PARTY

This is all new to me. Way back when I started my overseas basketball career, I had to walk 25 minutes to the internet cafe just to check my email.  That’s right, I walked!

I know what you’re thinking.  “This guy went to Villanova. He was a pro ball player gettin’ paid all kinds of dollars. Why was he walking?”

First of all, they were pesetas.  Second, and to make a long story short, nobody told me the car was diesel.

IT AIN’T MY FAULT

It was the year 2000 in Ferrol, Spain, and the place didn’t have McDonald’s. But luckily, they had what I thought was the first internet cafe in the world. And for 1000 pesetas an hour, I wasn’t complaining.

Onward to 2005.  I was just getting used to unlimited internet in my own apartment, and along came online spades with my brother. And then came fantasy football with my homies. And now we have, facebook, twitter, linkedIn and all their misfit tag-a-longs.  Somewhere in there came blogs, but unfortunately, I never got the memo.

Cathedral Leon

The Cathedral, Leon Spain

I can only imagine everything I could have shared; the pics from crazy European post-game parties of all the beautiful places I visited. The thoughts I had going into the final rounds of championship series.  The gigs of archives.  All at my fingertips to look back.  Sorta like the facebook timeline thing, but indexed and searchable. Woulda. Shoulda. Coulda. Dang.

At least my buddy Chris Charles got it right.

FRIENDLY ADVICE

If you’re starting a new career, or any new adventure for that matter, go to wordpress.com and sign up for a free blog! You don’t need crazy amount of tech skills to do it. Just a little poise, effort, and execution. Every true baller should have some of that.

I’ll be here learning this thing right along side of you.  I’m a big fan of video tutorials. I hope the one I used helps you get up and running as fast as I did.  It took me about 1 hour to get signed up and ready to post, but I suggest a good 8-10 hours of real thought and research.  But that’s just me.

And if my suggestions, the video, or anything you’ve read doesn’t help you out, remember, my name ain’t Vinton G. CerfAbraham PR, or the creator online tutorial videos.

So, once again, it ain’t my fault.

Learn more about how iBall United is helping players to build and sustain professional careers by visiting our website at http://www.iballunited.net

iBall United works for you:
•Finding Teams and Agents,  •Evaluating Offers or Contracts,  •Creating and Publicizing Professional  •Marketing Packages  •Pro Camps and Tryouts  •Online Exposure  •Pro Player Education Guide   •Finding Answers to Common Questions

About iBall United

A Sports Management, Marketing, and Consulting Agency.
This entry was posted in Education, Howard Brown Basketball and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How To Start a Blog on WordPress, Archiving Your Pro Career, and Why it Ain’t My Fault

  1. Welcome to the Pary my Brother!! Looking forward to seeing your posts!!!

Questions and Comments are welcome. Thank you!

