Together We Stand on Shoulders of Tall People


1992 Team USA Dream Team and 2012 Redeem team

1992 Team USA Dream Team and 2012 Redeem Team

“If I have seen further, it is by standing on the shoulders of giants.” -Isaac Newton

Welcome to iBalluni.  That’s short for “The University of iBall United.

Ever since iBall United set a new gold standard for Free Agent Exposure Camps with the Euro Pro Select combine, I’ve been getting alot of interesting questions about playing overseas. I registered the official iBall United Blog here on wordpress for the sole purpose of equipping ballers with not only the tools they need to fulfill their dreams on the hardwood, but to also win in the biggest title game of all — the game of Life!

This is the first official blog post! Actually, wordpress did a corny autopost when we registered so this is more like the 2nd.

AnywhU. I wanted to start this blog with a superfresh topic. Well. Not really.  Let’s pull out an oldie but goodie–the 1992 USA Dream Team vs. the 2012 Team. Who wins?  By how much? Who’s the MVP?

Your answers are gonna help us get to have a feel for each other’s stance on the current state of the game of basketball.  I know what I think, and it ain’t this!

I think MJ summed it up best. You have to know how to play the game.”

I was recently at the Villanova Basketball Alumni Golf and Team workout…  By the way, Coach Wright is doing HUGE things for the kids in that program.  X’s and O’s are just the start. He and his staff are  building a network of real support around the kids. And it has alot more to do than basketball.  It was a pleasure to see his sincere commitment to making sure his kids are prepared for life, whether it’s playing ball for a living or not.

OK. Where was I? Oh yeah.

Some of my fellow ‘Cats had the nerve to be arguing with 1985 NCAA National Champ, and current NBA coach (Chicago Bulls)  “Easy” Ed Pickney when he basically confirmed what MJ said. The pessimists begged to differ.

Their arguments. In a nut shell. Athleticism.

And that brings us to the point here…the reason for this post…the reason for this blog…for Euro Pro Select, Live the Dream Foundation and the reason I founded International Ballplayers United, Inc.  And that’s because I’m a firm believer that any ‘success’ I’ve had can be attributed to 3 things..

  1. The grace of God
  2. Some unquantifiable combination of luck and incredibly hard word.
  3. An early understand that there will always be a lot to learn.

And that brings us to the now.

My ball career has come to an end. It’s been a beautiful ride, but you know what they say about all good things…

But believe it or not. I’ve never been more excited about what the future holds.  The truth is, I’ve been preparing for this moment for as long as I can remember.  Sleepless nights (literally) on the computer learning random stuff I was interested in. Morning workouts in the weight room listening to audiobooks on my ipod.  And you thought it was Ro$$.  Taking on 600-page text books during 13 hour road trips. (I’m sure gonna miss those. 🙂 I’ve always known this day would come.

All I can say is. I’m ready to pass the baton.

I hope to share everything I’ve learned about the game of basketball on so that the next guy doesn’t have to encounter the roadblocks that I have over the years.  Think of iBallUni as the ‘Easy Pass” for International Basketball.

But also expect to learn a lot of random stuff about the education system, family finance, graphic design, and my absolute favorite, the internet –> I’ll bet anyone I’ve spent more hours online over the last 13 years than any pro basketball player on the planet!

Again. I understand that I still have a lot to learn as well so this blog isn’t a one-way flight. I’ll be reading and commenting on your posts so I encourage you to participate.  But It’s time there was a forum where we share our knowledge about this about this game we are playing.  The game of life is MUCH MORE than a game.

Because there’s no blueprint for this profession, there’s no advanced degrees or special certificates for being an overseas ballplayer, international ballers have a huge responsibility to learn from those who have come before us, and help those who are next to come.

What Mr. Jordan said about ‘knowing how to play the game’ was true.  But when it comes to being an overseas player, and to take it even further, when it comes to the game of life, there’s alot more to the game than meets the eye. Isn’t it about time someone spoke up?

Isn’t it about time someone explained some really important things like: how to prepare for the game, how to stay in the game, and how to conduct the pre-game and post-game interviews. And wouldn’t it be really nice if somebody broke down all the factors that go into getting put  into the game in the first place!?!

It’s after 5 a.m. GMT here in Madrid. That means It’s August 24, where I’m at.  That also means that I’m in another country once again on my dad’s birthday. But back on the east coast of the good ole U-S-of-A, it’s still August 23rd.

There may be some questions whether or not it’s time to celebrate my dad’s birthday.

But there’s no question about whether or not its time for the community of international ballers to come together and share our knowledge with those players that look to stand tall on our shoulders.

That time, my friends, is now.

“Together we stand. United we ball.” – iBall United

Thanks for sharing.

Howard Brown, Founder & CEO

International Ballplayers United, Inc.

Learn more about how iBall United is helping players to build and sustain professional careers by visiting our website at http://www.iballunited.net

iBall United works for you:
•Finding Teams and Agents,  •Evaluating Offers or Contracts,  •Creating and Publicizing Professional  •Marketing Packages  •Pro Camps and Tryouts  •Online Exposure  •Pro Player Education Guide   •Finding Answers to Common Questions

About iBall United

A Sports Management, Marketing, and Consulting Agency.
This entry was posted in Education, Howard Brown Basketball, iBall United, International Basketball and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Questions and Comments are welcome. Thank you!

